Galaxy Mini Quilt- first quilt show

I first mentioned this mini-quilt in another post, and wanted to give an update since it is now finished, in some state.

IMG_0830

As you can see, compared to my previous post, half of my intended mini is missing. When I started quilting the warm side, everything just went to crap. It wasn’t working, and I knew I was approaching melt-down. So I made an executive decision to go with just the cool colors. It’s approx 13″ x 13″.

For the quilting I was inspired by this tutorial from 107 Quilts: and used invisible thread

Step 6

I’ll be honest. I am having severe anxiety about this. One thing about quilting that I have never been good at is perfection. The day I finished/turned it in for the quilt show, I cried MANY TEARS. I was so ashamed because it didn’t feel up to snuff and I truly tried the best I could.

I’m coping a little better now, but I might have another meltdown when I see it displayed next to to the other submissions from our guild.

But I’ve been listening to Elizabeth Gilbert’s book- Big Magic, and it reminded me that all creativity comes with fear and vulnerability, so I’m trying to embrace it in whatever way I can. I know that the upcoming year will hold many challenges creatively for me and require much bravery, so I guess this is a good way to start the year.

If you’re in the area, the Oklahoma City Winter Quilt Show is this coming weekend. Check it out!

Leave a Reply

