Science! quilt

IMG_8197IMG_8203

The boyfriend loves science. And orange. And we are quirky people. So when I decided to make a quilt for his birthday, I wanted to embody those things, but also have it reflect my personal sewing aesthetic.

I’ll start with color. Orange is great, but I wanted it to be an accent color rather than the main color. I love navy and orange together, so it seemed like a natural fit.

I love paper piecing, so that is a big reason I ended up with the Spinning Icosahedron I talked about in my last post.

I don’t know about anyone else, but I have head a hard time finding a lot of inspiration for masculine quilts, even in the modern quilt world. But since I had the idea of “Science!” to go off of, I stuck with that.

I had bought a great fat quarter bundle from Westwood Acres last year that this was perfect for.

Tranished_Silver_II_large

Science! Greys! Blacks! Woo!

I also bought the orange around the color wheel bundle from Marmalade Fabrics (sadly going out of business).

IMG_7849

All the blues and other fabrics were pulled from my stash.

This all came together pretty quickly. I didn’t decide til about a month out that I was going to make him a quilt. The icosahedrons took about an hour each, and honestly the rest took more time that I’d anticipated. 🙂  But that’s how it goes!

One of my favorite elements of the quilt is the thin stripe down the side opposite the icosahedrons. The fabric is so pretty. And it’s from Walmart- a line called Emma and Mila. The hint of metallic is so nice. And I think it is a nice modern balance to the orange focal point.

11813305_916355420914_3001904100288264835_n

The back is just improved piecing. I made six inch wide cuts of a lot of fabrics and randomly pieced them.

Haha, the llamas crack me up. I bought that FQ at Quiltcon and a llama fabric on a space/science quilt is perfectly the boyfriend.

IMG_8204 IMG_8206

I just quilted organic,  horizontal lines. It was a first for me, but I like the way it turned out.

He loved it. I love it. Here are gratuitous pictures of us from the day I gave it to him. 🙂IMG_8179 IMG_8185

Leave a Reply

