Carolyn Friedlander Paper Piecing Class

I was PSYCHED to get to go to a class at Oklahoma QuiltWorks with Carolyn Friedlander teaching paper piecing. 

You may remember I’m using her beautiful Botanics fabric line on a quilt right now

She used her pattern, Totem, to teach the principles of paper piecing. 

I’ve tried my hand at paper piecing a few times from videos online, but I’ve never felt confident (or even good) about my results. This was great because she is one of the greats, and I was in a class full of awesome people and we were all learning together.

Carolyn was so kind, patient and awesome! She answered my (and everyone else’s) questions and I caught the hang of it much quicker than I thought possible. 

If you get the chance to workshop with her or do a class, I highly recommend it. And she said she has a new line of fabric coming out this fall, which I can’t wait to see! What a joy it was to hang out and talk shop with people who love what you do. I haven’t really had the chance to do that at all, and now I might be hooked on meeting up with my fellow quilters.

10525847_786589233394_992486825776349021_n-1

The blocks I completed in class.

10488103_786578779344_1870608750317271642_n-1

Carolyn and me!

One thought on “Carolyn Friedlander Paper Piecing Class

  1. Pingback: The update with bad pictures | Sweet Marie's Sewing Room

Leave a Reply

