Modern Botanics – in progress

In an update to my earlier post wondering about making a mid-century modern inspired quilt, I have an update. I’d really wanted to use all the different low volume pieces in the layer cake to make the sashing, but wasn’t sure until I saw Cluck Cluck Sew’s Sea Glass quilt where she did the same. I also got it in my mind that I wanted to do this as a quilt as you go (QAYG) project. So I just started.

It helped that I watched a documentary of the Women of Gee’s Bend the day I started.

The Quiltmakers of Gee’s Bend – PBS Feature from Glass World Films on Vimeo.

I really want to embrace the creativity of quilt making, and accepting that imperfections are ok and beautiful, too. 

So I just started sewing squares and rectangles from the high volume pieces and using the low volume pieces as sashing. 

It’s definitely not a traditionally pieced quilt. I am sewing directly onto the batting, and in places on certain edges appliquéing lines down. 

It’s taking some time, but it makes me happy. IMG_2832

So far I have two “blocks” that I joined together today. 

In other, somewhat related news, tomorrow I am taking a class with Carolyn Friedlander (designer of this very line of fabric!). SewOK is this weekend but was too rich for my blood, but she is teaching a class at a local quilt shop tomorrow. We will be making her piece, Totem.

1115-totem-front-cover_carolyn-friedlander_web-res-788x1217 

I still need to decide what colors I’m taking! I’ve never done a class like this, and really I’ve never even been to a get together of other quilters, so I’m looking forward to it!

3 thoughts on “Modern Botanics – in progress

    • I ended up going with some dark gemtones- not my usual style but I’m trying to branch out! I did fuschia, golden yellow, deep blue, cream and black.

  1. Pingback: Carolyn Friedlander Paper Piecing Class | Sweet Marie's Sewing Room

Leave a Reply

