Mid Century Modern Quilt- seeking ideas

One of my fabric buys this month was a layer cake of Botanics by Carolyn Friedlander. Here is what it looks like if you’re not familiar!

6a00e54efbe3a18833019affefcd65970b\\

 

I adore the color palate and the minimal patterns. I really want to make a mid century modern inspired quilt.

I have looked and looked for inspiration, because I’m not really looking to do something original, but I haven’t found much that is what I have in mind.

Some pieces that inspire me are these:

Fabric from Spoonflower

Screen Shot 2014-07-09 at 5.53.56 PM

 

I’ve sketched out a lot of variations of this grid pattern trying to flesh out what I want.

This quilt from etsy is also similar to what I’m envisioning.

il_570xN.503430463_49o4

This quilting is perfect-

c9d1070cf9671f61dd1afd5af9b9a87f

I’ve also thought about going this direction, with the Sundown Quilt from Kitchen Table Quilting

12908425373_a0599d0f8d_z

I’d love to do a triangle quilt (which I’ve done before and loved) and pull the gradient out towards the ends.

Any ideas, internet???

4 thoughts on “Mid Century Modern Quilt- seeking ideas

  1. I’m less enthusiastic about the triangle quilt. I’d love to see what you could do pulling the three other ideas – etsy quilt, retro fabric from Spoonflower and that awesome quilting – together.

  2. Pingback: Modern Botanics – in progress | Sweet Marie's Sewing Room

  3. Pingback: So close, not quite- Totem | Sweet Marie's Sewing Room

Leave a Reply

