Times of changes and Sunday Stash

February has been a month of chaos, joy, tumult, grief, and change. Because of all that’s happened, I’ve done no sewing and have only been accumulating fabric.

Someone dumped a puppy out by my house at the end of January and I took him in. His name is Hank and you can help me find him a home.

bowtieweb

My sister had a giant, healthy baby named Eli on February 1. I am so blessed to now have two precious nephews.

1554446_746230916784_1202707356_n

My grandfather died suddenly last weekend. He had a mercifully quick death and leaves an amazing legacy, but my heart is still so hurt.

IMG_4020

Now for the fabric. I’m not too proud to admit that I’ve been doing a little retail therapy to cope with all this change. And so far in my little quilting life, I have not been very purposeful in fabric buying. But the more I work, the more I’m drawn to bundles and fabric lines rather than going on my own to try to match fabrics. I have discussed before how matching fabrics is a weakness of mine. So here is some of what I have bought.

From Westwood Acres I bought two fat quarter bundles. One is Botanica. It is so lovely.:

IMG_4263

Also I bought a coordinating bundle for the Lush Uptown line. The line is beautiful, but not really my style, but I LOVED the colors. I am going to buy the wood grain fabric from Lush Uptown to make a quilt of these:

IMG_4265

From A Vintage Fairytale on etsy I bought a fat quarter bundle of Mixteca, which is enchanting and beautiful.

IMG_4264 1

And finally at an estate sale I found some cute pieces. One is a queen sheet set from Ikea. I imagine I’ll use the pillow cases to make a skirt, and the sheet as quilt backing.

IMG_4267

And I also bought some Indian and Indonesian panels at the sale… the colors are amazing. All three of them are 2 yards, and I can’t wait to decide what to do with them.

IMG_4266

In honorable mention- I don’t own it, but I am desperately lusting after an April Showers Layer Cake. Maybe after my next pay day….

april showers lc

Well that’s it for now. It will probably be a long while til I can participate in a Sunday Stash again. Linking up to Molli Sparkles!

8 thoughts on “Times of changes and Sunday Stash

  1. Sorry about your grandfather, that is so hard. Congrats on the new additions to the family and hope you find a home to that adorable puppy!! I love love botanics line I can’t believe i dont own any of it yet. And I totally have a weakness with matching fabrics, I’m really the worst at it :/

Leave a Reply

