Modern pinwheels- pieced

This weekend I pieced my grandmother’s throw.

I started with Joel Dewberry’s Bungalow layer cake. When I started, I was going back in forth between two designs. The layer cake almost evenly divides into color stories, as you can see below. Image

I considered doing a warm/cool value HST diamond quilt. Let’s see if I can find an example of what I was thinking. Ok, like this from Sew Katie Did.

Image

BUT I absolutely don’t trust myself to distinguish values that well, so I went with my other option, which was a pinwheel quilt from HSTs.

My grandmother’s mother was a pretty amazing lady who also quilted, and I hear that she often made pinwheel quilts. I thought this would be a good nod to her legacy with a modern spin.

I made all the pinwheel squares, then decided such bold fabric needed sashing, so I added 1.5″ sashing between all the squares. I’ll also add a border before I baste/bind/quilt it.

IMG_1685

Showing progress on my make shift design wall.

I am really, really pleased with how it turned out. I started out wondering how I’d do this piece since my grandmother and I have different tastes, but I think this combines traditional quilting patterns with modern prints.

Pieced top!

Pieced top!

Also, this is my first attempt with sashing! I know it’s pretty simple, but it’s always a bit nerve racking to try something new. I think it really sets the blocks apart.

IMG_1692

IMG_1690

I think I’m going to keep the border black, then do the binding and back in a bolder solid or even print, if I can find one in the next week that suits my fancy.

Here we go in the homestretch of Christmas!

Leave a Reply

