Winter’s Lane snowflake quilt

For this week’s Work in Progress Wednesday, I am sharing a project I started this past weekend. I bought the Winter’s Lane layer cake because it is everything I love about winter in a beautiful color palate, but it took me a while to decide what to do with it in a way that showed off the fabric.

I was finally inspired by Little Miss Shabby, who showed a sample of what Winter’s Lane could look like in her SuperSized quilt along.

Image

I loved that it had a traditional feel, and also reminded me of a snowflake. So I started out with my fabric.

Image

Forgive how wonky the light made the colors.

After this, I diverged a little from Little Miss Shabby’s template. Partially because of how much of each fabric I had, and partially because I wanted to use more half square triangles than flying geese.

This is where my most recent sketches come into play.

I decided to only focus on one “ring” around the center star at a time. I made it through the next ring a couple of nights ago.

Image

I like where it’s going, but I have the limitations of remaining fabric to work with.

Funny enough, this started as a wall hanging in my mind, but now it’s definitely growing to throw size.  Since so many of my projects have a definite vision, it’s been fun to do this project and just kind of let it go where it leads me!

Image

9 thoughts on “Winter’s Lane snowflake quilt

  1. Pingback: Winter’s Lane Snowflake- finished! | Sweet Marie's Sewing Room

Leave a Reply

