Ombre log cabin

SIGH.

That is my frustration.

I bought a V and Co Simply Color Ombre Jr Jelly roll about 6 months ago. I lusted after it. I got it. Image

It’s super cool. But I wanted to find a perfect project to use it for. Because you don’t buy ombre fabric unless you want to highlight the ombre, in my opinion.

So finally I see a cool quilt as you go log cabin tutorial from Stitched in Color. I’ve been wanting to try quilt as you go, so it seemed like a great match. I envisioned the log cabin swirling around on itself and highlighting the ombre.

This was also my first attempt at a log cabin.

Get ready for some straight talk about “process.”

You should know some things- I’m not great at precision. I try! But it’s not my strength. I am also bad at math.

Here are some challenges I was presented with. First of all, I couldn’t follow her pattern exactly because the strips were only 44″ long. So I ended on the double 8.5″ “logs”.

Here is what I ended up with. I felt like Dr. Frankenstein.Image

I knew it wasn’t good… but I couldn’t put my finger on why. It took me a minute to realize that the last 8.5″ “log” threw the symmetry off. So I just chopped it off. :-/

Also, I was disappointed that the center square and the second square didn’t have a different enough gradient to tell them apart. :-/

Here is the “final” trimmed up product.

Image

So… my thoughts after this. I will probably not make a quilt out of this jelly roll. I think I will focus on smaller projects, which is just fine. This little block will probably end up as a mug rug or pot holder.

Sometimes things don’t work out like you think, but hey! That’s part of the process, right?

2 thoughts on “Ombre log cabin

  1. Okay I love this log cabin. I love the variations I. The grey and the really modern feel of the block….LOVE. I now want to make my own. I had looked at ombré at the store and had no idea what to do with it. Now I have to have some. Please consider making a few more blocks before you give in. I think this quilt could be spectacular.

  2. Thank you for the encouragement! I think I definitely needed to step away from it for a few days. I do like it more than I originally did; I think it’s hard to let go of the pre-conceived notions you have of a project when it doesn’t turn out the way you envision. It is fun fabric though- so I’ll give it a shot!

Leave a Reply

