Finished- Aqua, brown, white stripes

Here’s the third quilt that I finished. There’s a little story behind it.

This is another quilt where I solicited the pattern from Facebook. Again, I don’t think I went with the crowd suggestions, but it was fun. šŸ™‚

That was about… 4 months ago. At the time I finished half of it, then got sick of it and put it away. Fast forward to this past weekend…

In honor of the impending craft fair, I decided to pull it out and finished it. Here are some notes.

One… I did not have notes on the size of HST’s I used in the original piece. Dumb. I knew I had the fabric of the blue, but I matched the white and brown as best as I could. (I think the white is a little off- OOF)

Two… I have greatly, greatly improved as a sewer in the past 4 months. It was a bit painful to work with poorly sewn quilt tops. You can even see below how uneven the top is compared to the bottom. Kind of frustrating, but I still like colors and design.

A note about this pattern- I didn’t realize how much it would highlight imperfections!

Well, you sew and you learn! I still like it!
078webĀ  264Ā  263

5 thoughts on “Finished- Aqua, brown, white stripes

  1. I think it looks great, honestly the imperfections look like they were on purpose! I thought it was deliberate. Very pretty!

  2. Funny thing is.. I was asked today to give help to a woman who does not quilt to teach her kids how to quilt.. from long distance. Phew. I saw this quilt and I thought, “now here’s a pattern that purposely has jagged edges!” I am with “primal quilting” .. I thought the imperfections were intentional! I like it! And I agree – it is hard to finish a quilt after your skills has improved tremendously. My dad sent back a quilt I had made him because it was much to small.. I took most of it apart, and I just can’t work with it.. it’s that bad! LOL. I’ll figure something out!

    Great job! šŸ™‚

    • Haha, thanks for your comment! It’s good to hear people who can empathize. šŸ™‚ And thanks for the encouragement! That’ll teach me to half sew a quilt top again. šŸ™‚

  3. I have to say, I love that they don’t line up. When I first saw the picture I thought, “Wow, I love that, but it must have been tough making them a little off”
    I saw roll with it and let people think you did it on purpose!

Leave a Reply

