My first skirt (and unsupportive dogs)

Last night I attempted my first skirt. I had been sitting on this skirt tutorial from Shrimp Salad Circus for a while, and after the overwhelming cuteness of the pansy apron, I decided to dip my toe into it.

Even though my ambition is to make a bubble skirt from the pansy fabric, I knew I should start with a practice run. I am super-inspired by Naughty Short’s use of vintage sheets for clothes, and I have a good stash of vintage sheets, so I used them to give it a shot.

This is not a great pic, but I did a very mediocre job. 🙂 The tutorial was very easy to follow and has given me a good foundation to play with different styles and modifications.

skirt1   skirt2

LESSONS LEARNED-

  1. This skirt is incredibly transparent. 🙂 Sheets need a lining!
  2. I need to learn how to measure myself. The waist was easily 6 inches too big. Thank goodness it was elastic.
  3. Davy likes to look judgmentally on me while I model my new creations.

I will definitely be trying this again, with more appropriate fabric and measurements.

This is how Lady felt when I was studying a new pattern to make last night.

025

Leave a Reply

