Sooner centric

I work at the University of Oklahoma, and that is where the craft fair I am prepping for will take place, so I am making some “Sooner Centric” items.

Here are two I did last night.

The first is a quilt that I started. I wanted do one crimson and cream but not overtly OU. I decided on a play off a nine-patch from Quilting in the Rain.

017

I’m not sure how I feel about it in solid colors, but I think it’ll turn out well. This is also a test run for a quilt I plan to make using my recently passed grandfather’s dress shirts.

I also made another mug rug (can you tell I love making this for practice?), this time echoing the state shape in the quilting.

020

I like the way it turned out. I really want to use one of these embroidered Oklahomas on a tote bag, so we’ll see if I get to that this weekend.

Boomer Sooner!

One thought on “Sooner centric

  1. Pingback: Quilt squares to tote- making ugly things better | Sweet Marie's Sewing Room

Leave a Reply

