Ombre waves quilt

026

I can’t even tell you how much I love this project. It is going to be so hard to sell.

This weekend at Joann’s, I made a last minute buy of a jelly roll of gradiented blue fabric. Joann’s doesn’t usually have much in the way of pre-cuts, so I was thrilled to find it. Now I have to go back and BUY THEM ALL. ( 😉 )

030

I’ve seen a lot of cute jelly roll quilt tutorials, but one stood out: Cluck Cluck Sew’s Strip and Flip

I loved the concept and design, but I am much too monochromatic for a rainbow quilt.

So… here we go with the blues!

I just sewed all the strips together lengthwise, cut a slice out of the middle (8″ in and 5.5″ wide), sewed white strips down the inlaid piece, and sewed it all back together!

VOILA!

Be still my heart. This is far and away the happiest I’ve been with a project.

Of course it is still lacking quilting and binding, but that shouldn’t be too rough. I want to “honor” the minimalist theme by quilting it simply and backing it in simple white.

Did I mention I’m in love with this?!

040

8 thoughts on “Ombre waves quilt

  1. Pingback: Anatomy of a pink quilt | Sweet Marie's Sewing Room

  2. Pingback: Ombre waves quilt- finished | Sweet Marie's Sewing Room

Leave a Reply

