Japanese coasters

Japanese fabric coasters Coaster quilting detail

This week I signed up to be in a craft fair hosted by my employer. I work at a very large university, and so it has the potential to be a big craft fair. Thankfully it’s in a month, so I have some time to build inventory.

One thing I wanted to do/try is quilted coasters. There are lots of tutorials out there, but I just did my own thing.

I don’t know if this qualifies as a full fledged tutorial, but the specs on these are as follows.

  • 4″ square of fabric for top of coaster
  • 4″ square batting
  • 5.5″ square for bottom of coaster/binding

From there I sandwiched all three, the two 4″ pieces centered on the 5.5″  piece.

I used the simple style of one piece binding from a tutorial found at Knitty Bitties. I do this on all my mug rugs.

Then I simply quilted a square spiral on the inside of the coaster. Voila! Simple, and great use of scraps.

I used a fabric I bought about a month ago. I lived in Japan for a year, so I’m a sucker for authentic style Japanese patterns. I bought these fabrics in a small fat quarter bundle from Joann’s, but couldn’t decide what to use it for, because it’s not really the style of my house. But these are a great little piece. I’ll be making a lot more!

Leave a Reply

